Skip to content

Error 1324: The folder path ‘My Pictures’ contains an invalid character

2009/10/27
Cause:
Registry entries are pointing to a My Pictures folder that has been deleted or moved.
Resolution:

If the My Pictures folder is not on your computer, add a new folder that is named My Pictures, and then change the registry to point to the My Pictures folder. To do this, follow these steps.

Note Because there are several versions of Microsoft Windows, the following steps may be different on your computer. If they are, see your product documentation to complete these steps.

  1. Click Start, and then double-click My Documents.
  2. On the File menu, point to New, and then click Folder.
  3. Type My Pictures, and then press ENTER to name the new folder.
  4. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
  5. Expand the following registry subkey:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Explorer\Shell Folders
  6. Click Shell Folders, right-click My Pictures, and then click Modify.
  7. In the Value data box, type the path of the My Pictures folder that you added in steps 1 through 3, and then click OK.For example, the path of the My Pictures folder may be one of the following:
    • C:\My Documents\My Pictures
    • C:\Documents and Settings\Your_User_Name\My Documents\My Pictures
    • %USERPROFILE%\My Documents\My Pictures
  8. Expand the following registry subkey:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Explorer\User Shell Folders
  9. Click User Shell Folders, right-click My Pictures, and then click Modify.
  10. In the Value data box, type the path of the My Pictures folder, and then click OK.
  11. Expand the following registry subkey:
    HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Explorer\User Shell Folders
  12. Click User Shell Folders, right-click My Pictures, and then click Modify.
  13. In the Value data box, type the path of the My Pictures folder, and then click OK.
  14. Quit Registry Editor, and then restart your computer.

Source and reference:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/894510
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/err1324.htm

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Molly permalink
    2009/11/24 7:42 AM

    OMG, thank you soooo much! As a hopeless n00b I\’ve been trying all morning to decipher the geek speak which is supposed to help people like me who have ABSOLUTELY no idea how to fix problems with windows. The thing is, as I am a hopeless n00b the geek speak only confused me more. You have basically spelled it out, which is exactly what I need. Along with a slap in the face for fiddling with my registries in the first place :P

  2. george permalink
    2012/11/10 3:49 PM

    this isnt in my computer:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\ Explorer\Shell Folders

Leave a Reply

